Unburden Your Soul

Tuesday, June 11
 
Unburden Your Soul
 
When I kept silent [about my sin], my bones grew old through my groaning all the day long.
Psalm 32:3
 
We know the story of King David’s great sins of adultery with Bathsheba and accessory to her husband’s murder (2 Samuel 11–12). What is often overlooked is that David kept silent about these sins for nearly a year before confessing. That is, David and Bathsheba’s son had been born before David was confronted by Nathan the prophet about his sin.

Recommended Reading:
Psalm 38:1-4

Psalm 51 is the great penitential psalm David wrote in the wake of that tragedy. But David wrote another psalm detailing the destructive consequences of living with unconfessed sin: Psalm 32. We don’t know if Psalm 32 was connected in any way with David’s failure. But whatever the occasion, Psalm 32 serves as a warning to those who have sinned: Don’t be like a stubborn animal who must be compelled to action (verse 9). Rather, let God’s mercy draw you to Him who is ready and willing to forgive: “I said, ‘I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,’ and You forgave the iniquity of my sin” (verse 5).
           
Instead of living with guilt and shame, unburden your soul to God: “Rejoice…and shout for joy, all you upright in heart!” (verse 11)
 
The beginning of repentance is the confession of guilt.
John Calvin


Read through the Bible:
Psalms 34 – 37
This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.